

Central Maine Board of Approved Baseball Umpires



JIM TAYLOR AWARD

JIM TAYLOR WAS A FOUNDING MEMBER OF THE CENTRAL MAINE BOARD OF APPROVED BASEBALL UMPIRES AND WAS ALSO A LONG TIME NCAA UMPIRE CALLING MANY GAMES IN DIVISION 1. JIM WAS AN OUTSTANDING UMPIRE WHO WAS THE SECRETARY/TREASURER OF OUR BOARD, AND UMPIRED MANY STATE CHAMPIONSHIP GAMES. SIMPLY PUT THE AWARD IS NAMED AFTER JIM FOR HIS DEDICATION AND PROFESSIONALISM IN THE CRAFT OF UMPIRING FOR SO MANY YEARS. EACH YEAR, A COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE BOARD AND ITS ELIGIBLE UMPIRES TO DEEM IF THERE IS A MEMBER THAT EXEMPLIFIES WHAT JIM DID FOR OUR BOARD AND THE GAME OF BASEBALL, SHOULD SOMEONE BE CHOSEN THEY ARE AWARDED WITH A PERSONALIZED PLAQUE AND WOODEN, LASER ENGRAVED PLATE BRUSH COMMEMORATING THE YEAR CHOSEN ALONG WITH THEIR NAME AND UNIFORM NUMBER.

List of past recipients:

2003 - Barry Fuller #3

2004 - Jeff Benson #37

2005 – Joel Merry #9

2006 - Ken Millett #44

2007 - Dan Deshaies #19

2008 - Denis Mancini #22

2009 – Lyn Roberts #23

2010 - Larry LaRochelle #17

2011 - Doug Perry #51

2012 - Darren Hartley #28

2013 - Mike Henry #63

2014 - Scott Wing #66

2015 – Mike Cyr #36

2016 - Dwayne Palmer #35

2017 - Chris Goding #24

2018 - Randy Estes #46

2021 - Barry Fuller #3

2022 - Shaun Herrick #12

2023 - Dan Labrie #56

2024 - Bryan Metayer #64